TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (August 14, 2007) – Secretary of State Kurt S. Browning announced today two members were named to the Florida Arts Council. Don Browning (no relation to Secretary Kurt S. Browning) has been appointed to the Council through December 31, 2008, and Jeffrey Tucker, a current Council member, has been reappointed to serve through December 31, 2008, as well.

“We are delighted to have Mr. Browning and Mr. Tucker serve on the Florida Arts Council,” said Secretary Browning. “The Council is comprised of many dedicated and accomplished cultural advocates and we look forward to adding their expertise.”

Don Browning resides in Weirsdale, Florida. He is an accomplished photographer whose work has been shown in exhibitions and is included in corporate, public, and private collections, including the Department of State’s Art Collection, which is now on display in the Governor’s Office. Mr. Browning served in the United States Navy and received his degree from Central Missouri State University. In addition to his photography work, he has also enjoyed a design and graphics career in Central Florida.

Jeff Tucker is chief executive officer of Tucker/Hall and is an accredited crisis communications specialist serving clients in the areas of business planning, corporate reputation management, and media relations. Tucker also spent nine years with the magazine division of the Times Publishing Co. and Florida Trend magazine as Managing Editor and later as Deputy Publisher. During his years as Managing Editor, Florida Trend won 60 state, regional, and national awards for reporting and graphic design. In 2002, Tucker was appointed by Governor Jeb Bush to the corporate advisory board of the Florida Turnpike Enterprise. This is Mr. Tucker’s second term of service on the Florida Arts Council.

The Florida Arts Council is the 15-member advisory council appointed to advise the Secretary of State regarding cultural grant funding and on all matters pertaining to culture in Florida. Appointments to the Council are determined by the Governor, President of the Senate and Speaker of the House, in consultation with the Secretary of State. The appointments are based on geographic representation, as well as demonstrated history of community service in the arts and culture. These appointments were made by the House of Representatives.